Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Admin' Category

Returning From Hiatus

My deepest apologies to the community for having neglected SF Awards Watch for so long. No excuses, just apologies. When I took over the site it was a relatively minor task that required little effort and I was happy to devote that effort to what I considered a worthwhile endeavor. (Which it still is). Then […]


I’m sorry for the rush of catching-up posts here at SF Awards Watch. Work on Amazing Stories has found me quite busy, with the result that I have neglected my responsibilities here. Things have finally settled out a bit on the Amazing Stories project, which means that I’ll be able to pay a bit more […]

Emmy Award Nominees

A number of genre-related shows are included, notably Big Bang Theory, Game of Thrones, American Horror Story, Futurama, Falling Skies, The Walking Dead (and I suppose Glee since so many of you talk about it so much.) Additional information here. Orignal Reporting by SF Site   The Academy of Television Arts and Sciences has announced […]


Mike Kennedy sent along a note to inform us all that there were multiple awards handed out at the recently concluded DeepSouthCon (long-running bastion of Southern Fried Fandom) DSC 50 specific awards: The convention held a Short Story writing contest.  This was specific to DSC 50, not an ongoing activity of DSCs in general.  The […]

By Tanya Tynjala Organized by  “Cultura Hache” (Web page (, this new award was created to encourage and to promote the fantastic genre (fantasy, horror, sci-fi) . The award is only open to professionally published books in the Spanish language (not self published ones), for works that were published between January 1st and December 31 […]

CBC Award Nominations: Vote Now, Vote Often

SFSignal links to the CBC Bookie Awards website with nominees and voting options. The CBC Bookies are the “Canadian People’s Choice Awards”, and include a category for Science Fiction and Fantasy. According to Robert Sawyer (whose novel Wonder is one of the nominees), you can vote on a daily basis – even if you aren’t […]

LFS Hall of Fame Award Finalists Announced

The Libertarian Futurist Society has chosen four finalists for this year’s Hall of Fame Award. The Award will be presented at the 70th World Science Fiction Convention, to be held in Chicago over Labor Day weekend. The nominees are: Falling Free, a novel by Lois McMaster Bujold, first published in 1988. An exploration of the […]

Nicola Griffith wins the first Galactica Suburbia Award

Via the SFSite, we learn that Nicola Griffith has won the first annual Galactica Suburbia Award for her Joanna Russ pledge and other online work. The award is presented for the first time by the Galactica Suburbia podcast for “activism and/ or communication that advances the feminist conversation in the field of speculative fiction” Seven […]

Awards Gallery

Quite some time ago I asked Cheryl Morgan if I could help out with this site. She assigned me the task of gathering images of the various awards so that visitors could actually see what was being given away. It was a task that others had not had much success with previously. My results were […]

New Management, Same Stuff

Hi. Welcome (finally) to the Science Fiction Awards Watch site, under new management. My name is Steve Davidson. I used to write fairly regularly under the Crotchety Old Fan moniker, maintain a curated site for classic stuff (The Classic Science Fiction Channel – that was heartily recommended by Wil Wheaton – whee!) and am currently […]

New Owner Sought

For various reasons, Kevin and I are unable to continue running this service. We (and Petrea) are happy to continue to help out from time to time, but the site needs new owner/editors. If you are interested in taking over the site, please get in touch. You should be aware that there is a fair […]

Sidewise Award Finalists

The finalists for this year’s Sidewise Awards (for works of alternate history) are as follows: Short Form Eleanor Arnason, Mammoths of the Great Plains, PM Press Barry B. Longyear, “Alter Kameraden,” Asimov’s, 4/10 Ken MacLeod, Sidewinders, The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories, edited by Ian Watson and Ian Whates, Robinson Publishing/Running Press Alan Smale, “A […]

Thanks for Your Patience

It has been a very busy day of award announcements. Hopefully you were all able to follow things on our Twitter feed. We’ll now try to catch up here. The Seiun nominees are already up. Next stop, Australia.

Amazon Best of 2010

Wondering what books might be on the award shortlists next year?’s editors have been producing “best of” lists for the year, and their SF&F list is very interesting. Here’s their top ten: The Golden Age, Michal Ajvaz (Dalkey Archive Press ) How to Live Safely in a Science Fictional Universe: A Novel, Charles Yu […]

Vogel Awards Live

Cheryl will be hosting live coverage of the Sir Julius Vogel Awards ceremony from Au Contraire in Wellington, New Zealand tonight (8:00pm, Wellington time). You can watch the coverage over at

Locus Awards Live

The Locus Awards will be announced at a ceremony in Seattle tomorrow. Locus has chosen to use CoverItLive to provide live, text-based web coverage of the ceremony, just as we have done for the Hugos and World Fantasy Awards. Cheryl and Kevin will be on hand to help out. Liz Argall will report live from […]

Introducing The Sky Awards

We have a press release from China! The Sky Awards are fan/judge-voted awards for Chinese science fiction and fantasy literacy. These awards are initiated and administered by the Sky Award Organizing Committee composed of a number of senior SF/F fans, and the Judge Panel consists of writers, editors, critics, and professionals in the SF/F field […]

Aeon Award for 2009

Albedo One magazine has announced the winners of the 2009 Aeon Award for short fiction, and some changes in the judging for this year. The €1000 grand prize went to “Frogs on My Doorstep” by Annette Reader. Second place (€200) went to “Bridges” by Nick Wood and third place (€100) to “Canis Lupus, Rosa Canina” […]

Feeds Oops

Some of you may have lost your RSS feeds from this site for a few days. That’s because in transferring over to use FeedBurner I managed to typo the feed address. Much embarrassment here. Hopefully things will be fixed shortly.

2010 Aurealis Short Lists

The finalists for the 2010 Aurealis Awards (Australia’s juried awards) have been announced. You can find the full list here. The winners will be announced at a ceremony in Brisbane on Saturday 23 January 2010.

Next »