Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Results' Category

Endeavour Award winner

This year’s winner of the Endeavour Award is Kristine Kathryn Rusch for City of Ruins. Rusch was unable to attend OryCon, where the award is given, so John Lorentz accepted the award on her behalf.

Kuvastaja Award

The Kuvastaja Award, given by the Finnish Tolkien Society for the best (untranslated) Finnish fantasy book, has gone this year to Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen for his novel Harjukaupungin salakäytävät. It is his second win. Further details, as ever, are available from Tero Ykspetäjä.

World Fantasy Awards

The 2011 World Fantasy Awards were announced in San Diego, California earlier today. Life Achievement: Peter S. Beagle, Angélica Gorodischer Novel: Nnedi Okorafor, Who Fears Death (DAW) Novella: Elizabeth Hand, “The Maiden Flight of McCauley’s Bellerophon” (Stories: All-New Tales) Short Story: Joyce Carol Oates, “Fossil-Figures” (Stories: All-New Tales) Anthology: My Mother She Killed Me, My […]

The 2011 Sitges International Fantastic Film Festival, the biggest sf/horror film festival in the world, wrapped up this past weekend. The overall award for Best Picture this year went to a non-sf movie, Red State. However, there’s plenty of sf among the copious other awards, which are all listed here.

The 2011 British Fantasy Awards were announced at a ceremony at FantasyCon 2011 in Brighton on October 2. Best Novel: the August Derleth Fantasy Award: Demon Dance, Sam Stone (House of Murky Depths) Best Novella: Humpty’s Bones, Simon Clark (Telos) Best Short Story: “Fool’s Gold”, Sam Stone, from The Bitten Word, ed. Ian Whates (NewCon […]

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society has announced that Connie Willis is the 2011 solo winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award is bestowed for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings to inspire the human exploration of space. More information is available on the BSFS’s Heinlein Award web site.

2011 Sunburst Awards Announced

The winners of the 2011 Sunburst Awards, Canada’s juried speculative literature prizes, were presented on September 14 at an event in Toronto. They are as follows: Adult: Under Heaven,Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Group Canada,) Young Adult: Bookweirder, Paul Glennon (Doubleday Canada) Full details are on the Sunburst Awards web site.

Sky Award Winners

The winners of the 2010 Sky Awards were announced on August 27, 2011 at a ceremony in Shanghai, China. They are: Best Fiction Long Form: Three Body III: Dead End, LIU Cixin (Chongqing Publishing House) Best Fiction Short Form: “Algorithm of Simhuman”, CHI Hui (Science Fiction World, May 2010) Most Popular Translated Fiction: Long Form: […]

Hugo Award Winners

For those of you who missed the live tweeting from last night, the list of winners of this year’s Hugo Awards can be found at the official website. Stats lovers can get all the numbers from the Renovation website (PDF).

Big Heart Award, 2011

The winner of this year’s Big Heart Award, as announced by Dave Kyle at last night’s Hugo Award ceremony, is Gay Haldeman.

Sidewise Award Winners

Here’s another set of awards from Worldcon. This year’s Sidewise Awards winners are: Long Form: When Angels Wept: A What-If History of the Cuban Missile Crisis, Eric G. Swedin Short Form: “A Clash of Eagles”, Alan Smale

Chesley Award Winners

Our first set of Worldcon-related awards are the Chesleys. has a full post, including images of all the winning art. Here are the highlights: Paperback: Jason Chan, for Geist by Phillipa Ballantine (Ace) Hardcover: Michael Whelan, for The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson (Tor) Magazine: Nick Greenwood, for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine […]

Missed One

A lot of awards are likely to be presented this year at Worldcon, but it appears we missed one last year. The 2010 Big Heart Award went to Australian fan, Merv Binns. Our apologies to Merv and the Big Heart folks for missing that.

Galaxy Award Winners

The July edition of China’s Science Fiction World announced the winners of their annual Galaxy Awards. The highlights include: Best Story: “In Life, Seldom Meeting”, He Xi Most Popular Foreign Author: George R. R. Martin Art: “Anna’s Flowers”, Liang Kedong Special Galaxy Prize: Three Body III: Dead End, Liu Cixin The full list of winners, […]

Eisner Awards

This year’s Eisner Award winners were announced at the San Diego Comic-Con over the weekend. A full list of winners is available here. Many of the winners are genre-related. The best known is probably horror writer, Joe Hill, who took Best Writer for his Lovecraft-inspired series, Locke & Key (IDW).

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has issued a correction to the winners in the Short Form category of the Rhysling Awards, apparently because the original first and second place winners were ineligible due to prior publication. The corrected list is as follows: First Place: “Peach-Creamed Honey”, Amal El-Mohtar Second Place: “Binary Creation Myth”, Karen A. […]

Canada’s media SF awards were presented at a ceremony in Toronto on Saturday, July 16. The winners are as follows: Best Film: Inception Best Script: Inception Best Male Performance (film): Johnny Depp for Alice in Wonderland Best Female Performance (film): Chloe Grace Moretz for Kick-Ass Best Series: Stargate Universe Best Male Performance (TV): Adam Baldwin […]

Awards at Finncon

Also taking place last weekend was Finncon. Various awards were presented. Here are a couple of results. There will be more when we’ve checked spelling with our Finnish friends. The Tähtifantasia Award for translated fantasy fiction went to Andrzej Sapkowski for Viimeinen toivomus. This was translated from Polish. The book was published in English by […]

Mythopoeic Awards

MythCon took place over the weekend. The winners of this year’s Mythopoeic Awards were as follows: Adult literature: Redemption in Indigo, Karen Lord Children’s literature: The Queen’s Thief series, Megan Whalen Turner Inklings studies: Planet Narnia, Michael Ward Myth and fantasy studies: The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale, Caroline Sumpter

This is the third award presented annual at ReaderCon (along with the Shirley Jackson and Rhysling awards). It highlights a writer whose work the jury believes has been unjustly ignored. This year the award went to a living writer for the first time: Katherine MacLean.

Next »