Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'David Gemmell Legend Award' Category

2012 Gemmell Award Winners

This year’s David Gemmell Awards For Fantasy were presented tonight in a ceremony held at London’s Magic Circle headquarters. The winners were: Ravenheart Award (best cover art): Raymond Swanland – Blood of Aenarion Morningstar Award (best debut): Helen Lowe – Heir of Night Legend Award (best novel): Patrick Rothfuss – The Wiseman’s Fear For further […]

Gemmell Awards

The results of these fan-voted awards for epic fantasy were announced last Friday. The winners are: Morningstar Award (Best Newcomer): Darius Hinks, Warrior Priest (Black Library) Ravenheart Award (Best Cover Artist): Olof Erla Einarsdottir for the cover of Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Harper Collins Australia) Legend Award (Best Novel): Brandon Sanderson, The Way […]

Gemmell Award Winners

The full list of Gemmell Award winners is now available on the official website. They are as follows: Ravenheart (fantasy cover): Best Served Cold, Didier Graffet (sword), Dave Senior (map) and Laura Brett (art director) — novel by Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz) Morningstar (debut fantasy): The Cardinal’s Blades, Pierre Pevel (Gollancz) Legend (fantasy novel): Empire, Graham […]

Gemmell Award Winner

The gossip on Twitter is that Graham McNeill has won the David Gemmell Legend Award for his novel, Empire. Full results will follow when we get them.

At the Speculative Horizons blog James Long argues that the David Gemmell Legend Award is bad for fantasy fiction. There’s already an active comment thread and at least one blog post elsewhere vehemently disagreeing.

Gemmell Short Lists

Thanks to Dark Wolf Fantasy Reviews and Fábio Fernandes we have what we think are the full details for the Gemmell Awards short lists. David Gemmell Award For Fantasy Warbreaker, Brandon Sanderson (Tor US) The Cardinal’s Blades, Pierre Pevel (Gollancz) Empire, The Legend of Sigmar, Graham McNeill (The Black Library) Best Served Cold, Joe Abercrombie […]

The short lists for this year’s David Gemmell Awards have been announced. We don’t know what they are because they announcement appears to be available only as a YouTube video and we don’t have a good enough connection to watch it right now. If you happen to have the technology, you can find the video […]

Looming Deadlines

There are a number of major award deadlines coming up. Only SFWA members can vote in the Nebulas, but everyone can participate in the Locus Awards and David Gemmell Awards (yes, horribly designed web site, sorry). Vote over the weekend, you know you won’t have time during the week and by Easter it will be […]

Gemmell Award Expands

The folks behind the David Gemmell Legend Award have added two new prizes for 2010. The Morningstar Award will go to the best fantasy debut of the year, and the Ravenheart Award will go to the best book cover. Voting is apparently underway already on the Legend and Morningstar.

The Guardian has picked up on the news of the Gemmell Award result, and by far the most interesting thing in their coverage is that the award attracted “Over 10,000 fans from 75 countries”. Now that’s an international award, even if the eligibility criteria limits the candidates to works in English. The Gemmell has set […]

Gemmell Award Winner

The word on the web is that the first ever David Gemmell Legend Award has been won by Andrzej Sapkowski’s Blood of Elves (Gollancz). Update: This has now been confirmed on the official Gemmell Award web site.

Gemmell Short List

Another announcement from Eastercon – here are the finalists for the first ever David Gemmell Legend Award: Last Argument of Kings, Joe Abercrombie (Gollancz) Heir to Sevenwaters, Juliet Marillier (Tor UK) The Hero of Ages, Brandon Sanderson (Tor US) Blood of Elves, Andrzej Sapkowski (Gollancz) The Way of Shadows, Brent Weeks (Orbit) See the web […]