Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Sunburst Award' Category

2013 Sunburst Award Finalists

via File 770 Finton Moon by Gerard Collins Killick Press Maleficium by Martine Desjardins; translated by Fred A. Reed and David Homel Talonbooks Over the Darkened Landscape by Derryl Murphy Fairwood Press The Blondes by Emily Schultz Doubleday Canada Westlake Soul by Rio Youers ChiZine Publications YOUNG ADULT The Green Man by Michael Bedard Tundra […]

THE SUNBURST AWARD SOCIETY ANNOUNCES THEIR 2013 SHORTLISTS   TORONTO, ONTARIO (July 17, 2013) The Sunburst Award Society announced the short-lists for this year’s awards.   The short-listed works in the adult category are:   Finton Moon by Gerard Collins (Killick Press) Maleficium by Martine Desjardins; translated by Fred A. Reed and David Homel (Talonbooks) Over the […]

2012 Sunburst Awards – Geoff Ryman & Catherine Austen Winners

Via SFScope The Sunburst Award Committee is pleased to announce that the winner of its 2012 adult award is Paradise Talesby Geoff Ryman (Small Beer Press, ISBN – 9781931520645) and the winner of its 2012 young adult award is All Good Children by Catherine Austen (Orca Book Publishers ISBN – 9781554698240). About Paradise Tales, the Sunburst jury said: “Paradise Tales is a terrific […]

Sunburst Award Society Announces Copper Cylinder Award

SUNBURST AWARD SOCIETY ANNOUNCES THE WINNERS OF ITS FIRST COPPER CYLINDER AWARDS. Toronto, Ontario (December 2nd, 2012) The Sunburst Award Society is pleased to announce the debut of its newest literary awards. The Copper Cylinder Award is an annual member’s choice award selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books published during the previous year. […]

2011 Sunburst Awards Announced

The winners of the 2011 Sunburst Awards, Canada’s juried speculative literature prizes, were presented on September 14 at an event in Toronto. They are as follows: Adult: Under Heaven,Guy Gavriel Kay (Penguin Group Canada,) Young Adult: Bookweirder, Paul Glennon (Doubleday Canada) Full details are on the Sunburst Awards web site.

Sunburst Award Finalists

And finally on today’s world tour we stop off in Canada for the finalists of this year’s Sunburst Awards. Adult category Guy Gavriel Kay, Under Heaven (Penguin Group Canada) Robert J. Sawyer, Watch (Penguin Group Canada) Douglas Smith, Chimerascope (ChiZine Publications) S.M. Stirling, A Taint in the Blood (New American Library) Hayden Trenholm, Stealing Home […]

Sunburst Award Winners

The winners of the 2010 Sunburst Awards, Canada’s juried speculative literature prizes, have been announced. They are as follows: Adult: Indigo Springs, A. M. Dellamonica (Tor) Young Adult: Half World, Hiromi Goto (Puffin Canada) The award consists of a cash prize of CA$1,000 and a hand-crafted medallion which incorporates a “Sunburst” logo, designed by Marcel […]

Sunburst Award Finalists

The Sunburst Awards, Canada’s juried science fiction awards, have announced their finalists for 2010. They are as follows: Adult Novel Charles de Lint, The Mystery of Grace (Tor) A.M. Dellamonica, Indigo Springs (Tor) Cory Doctorow, Makers (Tor) Karl Schroeder, The Sunless Countries (Tor) Robert Charles Wilson, Julian Comstock (Tor) Young Adult Novel Megan Crewe, Give […]

Sunburst Award Winners

The winners of Canada’s juried speculative fiction award, the Sunburst, have been announced for 2009. They are: Adult category: The Gargoyle by Andrew Davidson (Random House Canada) Young Adult category: Little Brother by Cory Doctorow (Tor) The Sunburst is named after the novel by Phyllis Gotlieb (1926-2009), one of the first published authors of contemporary […]

Sunburst Shortlists

Canada’s juried speculative fiction prize, the Sunburst Award, has released its short lists for this year. They are as follows: Adult Night Child, Jes Battis The Gargoyle, Andrew Davidson The Alchemist’s Code, Dave Duncan Things Go Flying, Shari Lapeña Half a Crown, Jo Walton Young Adult The Summoning, Kelley Armstrong Dingo, Charles de Lint Little […]

Sunburst Winners Announced

The winners of this year’s Sunburst Awards have been announced as follows: Novel: The New Moon’s Arms, Nalo Hopkinson (Warner Books) Young Adult: Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet, Joanne Proulx (Viking Canada)

Sunburst Shortlists

The Sunburst Awards (Canadian juried awards) have issued their shortlists for this year. The lucky novels are: Double-blind – Michelle Butler Hallett Darkness of the God – Amber Hayward The New Moon’s Arms – Nalo Hopkinson Wonderfull – William Neil Scott Axis – Robert Charles Wilson Hopkinson has, of course, already won the Aurora – […]

Sunburst Awards Announced

The winner of the 2007 Sunburst Award for Canadian Literature of the Fantastic is Fabrizio’s Return by Mark Frutkin. Full details of the announcement are at the Sunburst Award Web Site.

Sunburst Acquires YA Category

Here’s another piece of news that broke just before we launched but does not seem to have been reported widely. Canada’s Sunburst Award has announced that they will add a Young Adult category from next year. The new award will carry with it the same CA$ 1,000 as the adult fiction award. We were reminded […]