Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Ditmar Awards' Category

2012 Ditmar & Related Award Winners Announced

Thanks to SFSite News for the notice: The 2012 Ditmars and Australian SF Awards were awarded at Continuum 8: Craftonomicon, the 51st Australian National SF Convention.  And those winners are: The A Bertram Chandler Award: Richard Harland The Norma K Hemming Award: AA Bell, for Hindsight, and Sara Douglass, for The Devil’s Diadem The Peter McNamara Award: […]

2012 Ditmar Award Nominees Announced

Via Continuum The Ditmar subcommittee are pleased to announce the ballot for the Australian SF (“Ditmar”) Award for 2012. Voting is now open, and will remain open for at least 30 days. The 2012 ballot is as follows: Best Novel * The Shattered City (Creature Court 2), Tansy Rayner Roberts (HarperCollins) * Burn Bright, Marianne […]

Ditmar Awards

The winners of this year’s Ditmar Awards (Australian, national, fan-voted), presented at Swancon 36 / Natcon 50 in Perth, are: Best Novel: Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager) Best Novella or Novelette: “The Company Articles of Edward Teach”, Thoraiya Dyer (Twelfth Planet Press) Best Short Story: tie: “All the Love in the World”, Cat […]

Kevin and Cheryl are at Eastercon where Internet access is patchy but other people appear to be taking up the slack. Here’s what’s happening. The Hugo nominees will be announced at a ceremony at Norwescon on Sunday (24th) which will be mirrored at Eastercon. The timing is 2:00pm Pacific, 10:00pm UK. Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, […]

Ditmar Nominees

Swancon 36 has announced the final ballot for this year’s Ditmar Awards. The Best Novel list is as follows: Death Most Definite, Trent Jamieson (Hachette) Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott (Pan Macmillan) Power and Majesty, Tansy Rayner Roberts (Voyager) Stormlord Rising, Glenda Larke (Voyager) Walking the Tree, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books) The full list of […]

Ditmar Awards Winners

As per Cheryl & Kevin’s live coverage on yesterday, here are the 2010 Ditmar Award winners. Best Novel: Slights, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books) Best Novella or Novelette: “Wives” Paul Haines (X6/Couer de Lion) Best Short Story: “Seventeen” Cat Sparks (Masques, CSFG) Best Collected Work: Slice Of Life, Paul Haines, edited by Geoffrey Maloney […]

Ditmar Nominees

The nominees for this year’s Ditmar Awards (the Australian fan-voted awards) have been released. The full lists are available here. The Best Novel list is as follows: Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Penguin) Liar, Justine Larbalestier (Bloomsbury) World Shaker, Richard Harland (Allen & Unwin) Slights, Kaaron Warren (Angry Robot Books) Life Through Cellophane, Gillian Polack (Eneit Press) […]

Best Fannish Cat

This year’s Australian NatCon, held in conjunction with Aussiecon 4, will be a lighthearted affair. As you might guess from the name, Dudcon, they are not taking themselves very seriously. They will, of course, present the Ditmar Awards, but alongside that they have resurrected a legendary Australian fan award: Best Fannish Cat. According to their […]

Technology willing I will be bringing you the Ditmar Awards live from Adelaide as they happen. If all else fails I will at least Tweet them. Ditmar Awards Live 2009

Ditmars Coverage

According to the program, the Ditmar Awards ceremony will take place at 8:30pm on Sunday. (That’s Adelaide time, which is half an hour behind Sydney/Melbourne time.) I was told yesterday that there isn’t any wi-fi in the hotel – all of the Internet access in guest rooms is wired. I will check this out today. […]

Ditmar Nominees

The nominees for this year’s Ditmar Awards (Australian fan-voted awards) have been announced. You can find the full list here. The novel nominees are: Fivefold, Nathan Burrage Hal Spacejock: No Free Lunch, Simon Haynes Tender Morsels, Margo Lanagan How to Ditch Your Fairy, Justine Larbalestier Daughter of Moab, Kim Westwood Earth Ascendant, Sean Wiliams The […]

We know that the Ditmars and Tin Ducks have been awarded, because Jonathan says he has won some, but we haven’t seen a formal announcement anywhere. Can anyone help? Update: The ever-so-wonderful Chris Roberson Allison Baker has found the Ditmar and Tin Duck winners here.

The forthcoming weekend is a busy time for award announcements. Saturday should see the presentation of the Ditmar Awards, BSFA Awards, Philip K Dick Award and IAFA Awards. We are also expecting the Hugo Award nominees to be announced sometime over the weekend. Because the award ceremonies are being held all over the world, announcements […]

Free Short Fiction

Hold off that Hugo ballot for an hour or so. The folks at Night Shade Books have posted online copies of the two stories from Jonathan Strahan’s Eclipse 1 that made it on the Nebula and Ditmar final ballots. You can read them here.

Ditmar Nominees Announced

The nominee lists for this year’s Ditmar Awards have been announced. You can find the lists here. As usual, congratulations to all concerned.

Get Voting Australia!

Jonathan reminds us that Friday is the deadline for voting in the Ditmars. Unlike in Australian elections, voting is not compulsory, but hopefully lots of people will vote anyway.