Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Rhysling Awards' Category

Whew!  A LOT of catching up to do on the past couple of weeks (absence due to publishing duties on Amazing Stories): Yes, we generally do not do the Emmys here – but Big Bang Theory has several nominations in hand, remains a top-rated prime time show AND has the good grace to present geek […]

2012 Rhysling Award Nominees

Via SFSite – for works first published in 2011 – here For more about the Rhyslings and Science Fiction Poetry – here

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has issued a correction to the winners in the Short Form category of the Rhysling Awards, apparently because the original first and second place winners were ineligible due to prior publication. The corrected list is as follows: First Place: “Peach-Creamed Honey”, Amal El-Mohtar Second Place: “Binary Creation Myth”, Karen A. […]

Rhysling Award Winners

Here are the winners and runners up in this year’s science fiction poetry awards: Short Poem Update: See revised list of winners for Short Form here. First place: “El Codex Chupacabra”, Juan Manuel Perez Second place: “Welcome Home (The Nebulas Song)”, Janis Ian Third place: “Peach-Creamed Honey”, Amal El-Mohtar Long Poem First place: “The Sea […]

Rhysling Awards

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced the results of this year’s Rhysling Awards as follows: Long Form 1st: “In the Astronaut Asylum”, Kendall Evans and Samantha Henderson 2nd: “Rattlebox III” Mike Allen, Kendall Evans, and David C. Kopaska-Merkel 3rd: “The First Story” Lana Hechtman Ayers Short Form 1st: “To Theia”, Ann K. Schwader 2nd: […]

2010 Rhysling Award Nominees Announced

Joining the large number of genre award announcements this weekend are the nominations for the 2010 Rhysling Award for SF/F poetry. The winners will be announced at Readercon 21 this July.

SFPA Grandmaster Nominees

The Science Fiction Poetry Association has announced their nominees for their 2010 Grand Master. They are: Richard L. Tierney and Jane Yolen. Voting takes place alongside that for the Rhysling Awards. Details available here.

The 2009 Rhysling Awards were announced at ReaderCon but were officially presented at a ceremony Sunday, Aug. 9 as part of Anticipation, the 67th annual WorldCon, held in Montreal. The 2009 winners were both present to receive their plaques from Science Fiction Poetry Association President Deborah Kolodji. Amal El-Mohtar won the short poem category (1-49 […]

News from Readercon is that this year’s Rhysling Award winners (for science fiction poetry) are as follows: Long Poem: “Search” by Geoffrey A. Landis Short Poem: “Song for an Ancient City” by Amal El-Mohtar As yet we have no official confirmation. Update: Title of Amal El-Mohtar’s poem corrected.

Rhysling Award Nominees

The Nominees for the 2009 Rhysling Awards have been announced. You can find the full lists here.

SFPA Grand Master Trophy

Mike Glyer has an excellent photo of Ray Bradbury’s Science Fiction Poetry Association Grand Master trophy.

Rhysling Award Winners

The winners of this year’s Rhysling Awards were announced at Readercon this weekend. They are: Grand Master: Ray Bradbury Long Poem: “The Seven Devils of Central California”, Catherynne M. Valente (Farrago’s Wainscot Summer 2007) Short Poem: “Eating Light”, F. J. Bergmann (Mythic Delirium Summer/Fall 2007) Locus has further details.

Rhysling Nominees

We seem to have missed publicizing the nominee lists for the Rhysling Awards, which are available here, but SF Scope has reminded us in reporting the excellent news that the SF Poetry Association is making all of the nominees available to members as an ebook. It is great to see an award administrator being proactive […]

Rhysling Eligibility

Mike Allen has posted a useful list of poems published by Mythic Delirium during 2007 that are eligible for the Rhysling Award. SFPA members please note.