Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Endeavour Award' Category

Kristine Kathryn Rusch Wins 2012 Endeavour Award

The Endeavour Award is presented to authors who live and work in the Pacific Northwest. This year’s award went to Kristine Kathryn Rusch for her novel City of Ruins.

Endeavour Award winner

This year’s winner of the Endeavour Award is Kristine Kathryn Rusch for City of Ruins. Rusch was unable to attend OryCon, where the award is given, so John Lorentz accepted the award on her behalf.

Whew!  A LOT of catching up to do on the past couple of weeks (absence due to publishing duties on Amazing Stories): Yes, we generally do not do the Emmys here – but Big Bang Theory has several nominations in hand, remains a top-rated prime time show AND has the good grace to present geek […]

The Endeavour Award, for the best book by an author residing in the Pacific Northwest, has announced its nominees: Anna Dressed in Blood, Kendare Blake (Tor) City of Ruins, Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Pyr) River Marked, Patricia Briggs (Ace) Robopocalypse, Daniel H. Wilson (Doubleday) When the Saints, Dave Duncan (Tor) The judges selecting the winner for […]

Endeavour Award Finalists

A press release has arrived from the Endeavour Awards listing this year’s finalists. They are as follows: A Cup of Normal, Devon Monk (Fairwood Press) The Bards of Bone Plain, Patricia McKillip (Ace Books) Black Prism, Brent Weeks (Orbit US) Dreadnought, Cherie Priest (Tor Books) Silver Borne, Patricia Briggs (Ace Books) The judges for the […]

Endeavour Award winner

This year’s winner of the Endeavour Award, as announced at Orycon 32 last night, is David Marusek for Mind Over Ship. In other Orycon awards news, a “Tropical Island basket” was auctioned off for the Sue Petrey Fund which contained a Hawaiian shirt originally presented to Ursula K. Le Guin at the Locus Awards. Also […]

Endeavour nominations announced

The Endeavour Award nominations have been announced: City Without End, Kay Kenyon Eyes Like Sky and Coal and Moonlight, Cat Rambo Hunting Ground, Patricia Briggs Mind Over Ship, David Marusek Push of the Sky, Camille Alexa The judges who will select the winner are Robin Wayne Bailey, Laura Anne Gilman, and Madeleine Robins. The winner […]

Endeavour Award looking for readers

With this year’s submission list heading for a record size, the Endeavour Award is again seeking to expand the pool of volunteer readers who evaluate the books to select the nominees. If you’re in the Portland, Oregon area, have broad reading tastes, and would be willing to read a few books and fill out scoresheets, […]

Endeavour Award result

The Endeavour Award announces: Portland writer David D. Levine won the 2009 Endeavour Award for his collection of short stories, Space Magic. The Award comes with an engraved glass plaque and a grant of $1,000. The plaque was made by artist Ashley Harper. The other finalists for the Award were Anathem by Neal Stephenson; Ill […]

Endeavour Award Finalists

The finalists for this year’s Endeavour Award are as follows: Anathem by Neal Stephenson Ill Met in the Arena by Dave Duncan Long Walks, Last Flights and Other Stories by Ken Scholes Space Magic by David D. Levine A World Too Near: Book Two of the Entire and the Rose by Kay Kenyon The judges […]

Endeavour Award Winner

The winner of this year’s Endeavour Award was announced at Orycon last night. Our congratulations go to Brenda Cooper whose book, The Silver Ship and the Sea (Tor) came top of the pile. Brenda wins an honorarium of $1,000 and an engraved glass plaque. The other finalists were The Book of Joby, by Mark J. […]

Endeavour Award Fund Raiser

The Endeavour Award is running a fund-raising auction with two very special items up for sale. They are figurines given to Ursula K Le Guin by Hayao Miyazaki. The auction will happen on eBay next weekend (starting November 22nd). Full details for the auction can be found on the Endeavour web site.

Endeavour Award Finalists

Another set of nominees courtesy of SF Scope: this time for the Endeavour Award. The Silver Ship and the Sea by Brenda Cooper (published by Tor) The Book of Joby by Mark J. Ferrari (Tor) Bright of the Sky: Book One of the Entire and the Rose by Kay Kenyon (Pyr) Powers by Ursula K. […]

Endeavour Award

Orycon is currently in progress, and that means that this year’s Endeavour Award winner has been announced. The winning book is Forest Mage by Robin Hobb, who was unable to attend the convention. Many thanks to Petrea Mitchell who brings us this report: Ursula K. Le Guin was the presenter. She explained that the trophy […]

Endeavour Award Update

We have had some more information come in about the Endeavour Award, in particular the very interesting way in which nominees are selected. That is now online here. And if anyone from Portland can help with the missing voting category we’d be very grateful. This also seems like a good moment to talk about data […]