Science Fiction Awards Watch

Archive for the 'Premios Ignotus' Category

2013 Premio Ignotus Finalists

via Tanya Tynjala Premios Ignotus are annual Spanish literary awards that were created in 1991 by the Asociación Española de Fantasía, Ciencia Ficción y Terror (AEFCFT). The awards, which are in the genres of science fiction and fantasy, are voted on by members of Hispacon, the national science fiction convention of Spain. The method appears […]

2012 Premios Ignotus Awards (Spain)

from both Elias Combarro and Tanya Tynjala, the 2012 Premios Ignotus (Ignoti?) awards go to: Best Novel: Fieramente Humano, by Rodolfo Martínez (NGCficción!) Best Novella: La textura de tu piel, by David Jasso (Abismos – Grupo AJEC) Best Short Story: Mytolitic, by Sergio Mars (Catarsi 6) Best Anthology/Collection: Abismos by David Jasso (Grupo AJEC) Best […]


by Tanya Tynjala, Spanish Language Contributor (Editor’s note: Tanya contributes information regarding Spanish language awards and Spanish-speaking people’s events related to genre awards. English is not her primary language, nor is Spanish my secondary language. In ‘editing’ Tanya’s report, I’ve striven to change as little as possible while trying to maintain sensibility. If there are […]

Roughly translated from the Spanish: The Premios Ignotus is awarded by Asociación Española de Fantasía, Ciencia Ficción y Terror at Hispacon-Imagicon, an annual convention held in/near Valencia, Spain. The convention is organized by both the Asociacion and the Spanish Federation of Epic Fantasy. Awards are given out in numerous categories. The 2011 award winners are: […]

Premios Ignotus Winners

Our friend Tanya Tynjälä has come through with a bunch of Spanish language awards presented at the recent Hispacon, starting with the Premios Ignotus for 2010: Best Novel: The last night of Hipatia, Eduardo Vaquerizo (Alamut) Best Short Novel: “The centaur harvest”, Eduardo Gallego & Guillem Sánchez (Nova 222 – Ediciones B) Best Short Story: […]

Premios Ignotus Winners

It has been a busy week or so in Spain. Last weekend we had the Xatafi-Cyberdark Awards. During the week we had the Premios Nocte. And now here are the winners of the Spanish fan-voted awards, the Premios Ignotus: Best Novel: Día de Perros (Day of the Dogs), David Jasso (Ed. Hegemón) Best Novella: Cuarenta […]

Los Premios Ignotus

The results of Spain’s fan-voted SF awards, Los Premios Ignotus, have been announced for 2008. Larry has the full details. Here are the bits of most interest to English speakers: Best Spanish Novel: Alexander the Great and the Eagles of Rome, Javier Negrete (Minotauro) Best Translated Novel: The Road, Cormac McCarthy (Mondadori) Best Translated Short […]

Larry at OF Blog of the Fallen has all of the details of this year’s Premio Ignotus Awards. As most of our readers are English-speaking, here is the translated novel category: 253, Geoff Ryman (Grupo AJEC) China Mountain Zhang, Mauren F. McHugh (Omicron) The Road, Cormac McCarthy (Mondadori) The Children of Húrin, JRR Tolkien and […]

Premios Ignotus

To Spain now, and some more winners courtesy of Concatenation. The Premios Ignotus were presented at Hispacon XXV in Seville in November. Best Novel: Juglar (Jongleur), Rafael Marín Best Novela: “Gel Azul” (Blue Gel), Bernardon E. Fernández Best Short Story: “Son de Piedra” (They are Stone), Rafael Marín Best Anthology: Axiómatico (Axiomatic), Greg Egan Best […]