Science Fiction Awards Watch

Prometheus Finalists

We get a press release (yay!) from the Libertarian Futurist Society giving the finalists for this year’s Prometheus Awards. The winners will be announced at some point during Worldcon. In the Best Novel category the finalists are:

  • Matter, Iain Banks (Orbit)
  • Little Brother, Cory Doctorow (Tor)
  • The January Dancer, Michael Flynn (Tor)
  • Saturn’s Children, Charles Stross (Ace)
  • Opening Atlantis, Harry Turtledove (Penguin/Roc)
  • Half a Crown, Jo Walton (Tor)

In the Hall of Fame category the finalists are:

  • Falling Free, Lois McMaster Bujold (1988)
  • Courtship Rite, Donald M. Kingsbury (1982)
  • “As Easy as A.B.C.,” Rudyard Kipling (1912)
  • The Lord of the Rings, J. R. R. Tolkien (1955)
  • The Once and Future King, T. H. White (1977)
  • The Golden Age, John C. Wright (2002)