Science Fiction Awards Watch

2009 Nebula Awards

The Nebula Awards 2009 were presented tonight at a ceremony in Los Angeles. SFAW hosted live coverage of the event. The awards announced tonight were:


  • Powers – Ursula K. Le Guin (Harcourt, Sep07)


  • “The Spacetime Pool” – Catherine Asaro (Analog, Mar08)


  • “Pride and Prometheus” – John Kessel (F&SF, Jan08)

Short Story

  • “Trophy Wives” – Nina Kiriki Hoffman (Fellowship Fantastic, ed. Greenberg and Hughes, Daw Jan08)


  • WALL-E” Screenplay by Andrew Stanton, Jim Reardon, Original story by Andrew Stanton, Pete Docter (Walt Disney June 2008)

Andre Norton Award

  • Flora’s Dare: How a Girl of Spirit Gambles All to Expand Her Vocabulary, Confront a Bouncing Boy Terror, and Try to Save Califa from a Shaky Doom (Despite Being Confined to Her Room) – Ysabeau S. Wilce (Harcourt, Sep08)

Other Awards previously announced were also presented.

4 Responses to “2009 Nebula Awards”

  1. on 26 Apr 2009 at 9:57 amTom S

    It was a nice surprise Wall-E won for best Script. I wonder if this will help it’s Hugo chances. I think it was better (in a close race) than The Dark Knight.

  2. on 26 Apr 2009 at 8:18 pmJeanne VanBuren


  3. on 28 Apr 2009 at 9:48 pmGlen

    I don’t understand. Didn’t POWERS win in 2008?

  4. on 29 Apr 2009 at 3:27 amCheryl


    No, last year’s winner was Michael Chabon’s The Yiddish Policemen’s Union.

    There are two areas where you might be getting confused. Firstly SFWA calls the awards announced last night the “2008 Nebulas”, even though they were awarded in 2009. Secondly, the Nebulas have a really strange eligibility system, which allows books published in an 18 month period to be eligible for any one year’s awards. Thankfully they are getting rid of that, so from next year you won’t be nearly so confused.