Science Fiction Awards Watch

Bram Stoker Award Winners

The results of this year’s Bram Stoker Awards have just been announced at the World Horror Convention in Brighton, England.

Tanith Lee and James Herbert have been named Grand Masters.

Basil Copper, Brian Lumley and William F. Nolan received Lifetime Achievement Awards. (Update: see comment below for the distinction between Copper’s award and the ones given to Lumley and Nolan.)

The Richard Layman President’s Award went to Vince Liaguno.

The Silver Hammer Award (for volunteer work on behalf of the Horror Writers’ Association) went to Kathy Ptacek.

The Specialty Press Award went to Tartarus Press (Ray Russell and Rosalie Parker).

The Stoker winners were:

  • Novel: Audrey’s Door, Sarah Langan (Harper)
  • First Novel: Damnable, Hank Schwaeble (Jove)
  • Long Fiction: The Lucid Dreaming, Lisa Morton (Bad Moon Books)
  • Short Fiction: In The Porches Of My Ears, Norman Prentiss (PS Publishing)
  • Anthology: He Is Legend: An Anthology Celebrating Richard Matheson, Christopher Conlon (ed.) (Gauntlet Press)
  • Collection: A Taste of Tenderloin, Gene O’Neill (Apex Book Company)
  • Non-Fiction: Writers Workshop of Horror, Michael Knost (Woodland Press)
  • Poetry: Chimeric Machines, Lucy A. Snyder (Creative Guy Publishing)

The Horror Writers’ Association announced that new categories for Screenplay, Young Adult and Graphic Novel will be added to the Stokers (presumably from next year). In addition from next year the Stokers will be partially juried. We have no further information on exactly how that will work.

7 Responses to “Bram Stoker Award Winners”

  1. on 27 Mar 2010 at 4:03 pmRobert Fleck

    To be precise, Basil Cooper was given a Lifetime Achievement Award by the World Horror Convention, while Nolan and Lumley each received the award from the Horror Writers Association, so Cooper’s is not precisely a Stoker, but was given during the same awards ceremony.

  2. on 28 Mar 2010 at 3:38 amCheryl

    Thank you! None of the people I saw tweeting from the ceremony could understand why there were two separate lifetime achievement announcements.

  3. on 29 Mar 2010 at 3:07 pmJohn

    I was there – it was quite vexing at the time, especially when Brian Lumley got up to say a few words about an award that seemed to have already been given to Tanith Lee, only to start talking about ‘he’.

  4. […] Bram Stoker Awards, presented annually by the Horror Writers Association, will add a graphic-novel category, presumably beginning next […]

  5. on 30 Mar 2010 at 9:42 amBLOG The World Horror Convention 2010

    […] saw the presentation of the annual Bram Stoker awards. It was ably presented by Gollancz’s Jo Fletcher, with an excruciatingly embarrassing video […]

  6. […] SF Awards Watch, HWA Related Posts: The 50 best online videos of all TimeFans go gaga over Lady Gaga's videosFairy […]

  7. […] The Bram Stoker Awards have been handed out, and winners include Audrey’s Door by Sarah Langan, Damnable by Hank Schwaebel, and Chimeric Machines by Lucy A. Snyder. […]