Science Fiction Awards Watch

Nebula Awards Results

The 2009 Nebula Awards (the Nebulas are dated for the nominal year of publication, not the year of presentation) were presented tonight at a ceremony at Cape Canaveral, Florida. The ceremony was streamed live over the internet, and despite a few technical glitches, it was great to be able to watch the ceremony as it happened. According to UStream, at least 158 people watched the live stream. The awards announced tonight were:


  • The Windup Girl – Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade Books, Sep09)


  • The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker (Subterranean Press, Jun09)


  • “Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast” – Eugie Foster (Interzone, Feb09)

Short Story

  • “Spar” – Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld, Oct09)

The Ray Bradbury Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • District 9” Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell (Tri-Star, Aug09)

Andre Norton Award

  • The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making – Catherynne M. Valente (Catherynne M. Valente, Jun09)

Joe Haldeman was inducted as Damon Knight Grand Master by Connie Willis. Neil Barret Jr. was recognized as Author Emeritus. Other Awards previously announced were also presented, as detailed in the official announcement.

One Response to “Nebula Awards Results”

  1. […] covered the Nebula Award Winners. Their coverage was distinctly different and in general a preferred the Sofanaut coverage. Tony and […]