Science Fiction Awards Watch

Sidewise Award Finalists

The finalists for this year’s Sidewise Awards (for works of alternate history) are as follows:

Short Form

  • Eleanor Arnason, Mammoths of the Great Plains, PM Press
  • Barry B. Longyear, “Alter Kameraden,” Asimov’s, 4/10
  • Ken MacLeod, Sidewinders, The Mammoth Book of Alternate Histories, edited by Ian Watson and Ian Whates, Robinson Publishing/Running Press
  • Alan Smale, “A Clash of Eagles,” Panverse Two, edited by Dario Ciriello, Panverse Publishing
  • William F. Wu, “Goin’ Down to Anglotown,” The Dragon and the Stars, edited by Derwin Mak and Eric Choi, DAW Books

Long Form

  • Adam Chamberlain & Brian A. Dixon, Columbia & Britannia, Fourth Horseman Press
  • Robert Conroy, Red Inferno: 1945, Ballantine Books
  • Jay Lake, Pinion, Tor Books
  • Eric Swedin, When Angels Wept, Potomac Books

The winners will be announced at Renovation, this year’s Worldcon, in Reno, Nevada during the weekend of August 17. The awards ceremony has tentatively been scheduled for Thursday, August 18 at 9:00 PM.

This year’s panel of judges was Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.