Science Fiction Awards Watch

The results of the 2011 Science Fiction & Fantasy Translation Awards have been presented at the 2011 Eurocon in Stockholm. The jury selected an honorable mention and a winner in each category.

Long Form Winner

A Life on Paper: Stories, Georges-Olivier Châteaureynaud, translated by Edward Gauvin (Small Beer Press). Original publication in French (1976­-2005).

Long Form Honorable Mention

The Golden Age, Michal Ajvaz, translated by Andrew Oakland (Dalkey Archive Press). Original publication in Czech as Zlatý V?k (2001).

Short Form Winner

“Elegy for a Young Elk”, Hannu Rajaniemi, translated by Hannu Rajaniemi (Subterranean Online, Spring 2010). Original publication in Finnish (Portti, 2007).

Short Form Honorable Mention

“Wagtail”, Marketta Niemelä, translated by Liisa Rantalaiho (Usva International 2010, ed. Anne Leinonen). Original publication in Finnish as “Västäräkki” (Usva (The Mist), 2008).

Special Award

In addition to the standard awards, the Award’s Board of Directors presented a special award to British author and translator Brian Stableford in recognition of the excellence of his translation work.

Each winning author and translator will receives a cash prize of US$350 (As both author and translator Mr. Rajaniemi gets $700).

The jury for the awards was Terry Harpold, University of Florida, USA (Chair); Abhijit Gupta, Jadavpur University, India; and Dale Knickerbocker, East Carolina University, USA.

More information about this year’s awards, including comments from the jury about the selected works and statements from the winners, is in the full announcement at the Award’s web site.

2 Responses to “2011 SF & F Translation Awards Announced”

  1. on 20 Jun 2011 at 11:55 pmBear

    any ideas about the eurocon awards? no one seems to have a list online 🙁

  2. […] Translation Awards winners […]