Science Fiction Awards Watch

The 2011 British Fantasy Awards were announced at a ceremony at FantasyCon 2011 in Brighton on October 2.

  • Best Novel: the August Derleth Fantasy Award: Demon Dance, Sam Stone (House of Murky Depths)
  • Best Novella: Humpty’s Bones, Simon Clark (Telos)
  • Best Short Story: “Fool’s Gold”, Sam Stone, from The Bitten Word, ed. Ian Whates (NewCon Press)
  • Best Anthology: Back from the Dead: The Legacy of the Pan Book of Horror Stories, Johnny Mains (ed.) (Noose & Gibbet)
  • Best Collection: Full Dark, No Stars, Stephen King (Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Best Non-Fiction: Altered Visions: The Art of Vincent Chong (Telos)
  • Best Artist: Vincent Chong
  • Best Comic/Graphic Novel: At the Mountains of Madness: a Graphic Novel, Ian Culbard (Selfmadehero)
  • Best Magazine/Periodical: Black Static, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)
  • Best Small Press: Telos Publishing
  • Best Film: Inception
  • Best Television: Sherlock
  • Best Newcomer – the Sydney J. Bounds Award: Robert Jackson Bennet, for Mr Shivers (Orbit)
  • The Karl Edward Wagner Special Award: Terry Pratchett

One Response to “British Fantasy Awards 2011 Announced”

  1. on 05 Oct 2011 at 12:02 pmLink Roundup « Genreville

    […] Awards Watch announces the British Fantasy Awards. The choices seem a bit… peculiar. Stephen Jones and Cheryl Morgan provide useful background […]