Science Fiction Awards Watch

COUNTDOWN TO THE HUGO AWARDS SHORTLIST VIDEO STREAM 2 HOURS TO GO

Today, Saturday April 7th, 2012, will produce what appears to be an unprecedented event in the history of science fiction awards, conventions and fandom.

For the first time ever (probably), the announcements will be live-streamed over the internet, from not one, not two, nor even three, but FIVE different conventions.

The Hugo Awards shortlist of nominees for the 2012 Hugo Awards (to be presented at Chicon 7 for works appearing in 2011)  will be live-streamed via Ustream from four different conventions -

(The above descriptions and links from The Hugo Awards official website)

This year’s awards broke a record in voter participation (the culmination of several years of hard work by numerous individuals).  Why not make the same statement and log in to one of the Ustream channels?

The announcements will take place at:

1 pm PDT          1 pm MST            3 pm CDT          4 pm EDT          9 pm BST