Science Fiction Awards Watch

Science Fiction editor and author Stanley Schmidt is the 2012 winner of the Robert A. Heinlein Award. The award is bestowed for outstanding published works in science fiction and technical writings that inspire the human exploration of space. The physical form of the Robert A. Heinlein Award consists of a 3.5 avoirdupois ounce sterling silver medallion bearing the image of Robert A. Heinlein as depicted by artist Arlin Robbins. The medallion is matched with a red-white-blue lanyard. In addition, the winner receives two lapel pins for use when a large medallion is impractical, and a certificate plaque designating the award suitable for home or office wall display.

This year for the first time the award will be presented on Friday, May 25, 2012 at opening ceremonies during Balticon 46, the Maryland Regional Science Fiction Convention. The award will be presented by Heinlein Committee Chair Dr. Yoji Kondo to Ian Randal Strock, editor and publisher of SFScope, accepting for Stanley Schmidt.

Stanley Schmidt is the long time editor of Analog Science Fiction and Fact Magazine, author of “The Coming Convergence: Surprising Ways Diverse Technologies Interact to Shape Our World and Change the Future” and editor of many science fiction and science fact anthologies.

The Robert A. Heinlein Award committee consists of science fiction writers and is chaired by Dr. Yoji Kondo, a long time friend of Robert and Virginia Heinlein. Members of the committee were originally approved by Virginia Heinlein. The Baltimore Science Fiction Society provides logistical support for the award including manufacture of award materials and processing of donations.

This award is supported by independent donations from the interested public. Virginia Heinlein authorized multiple awards in memory of her husband. The other awards that honor the memory of Heinlein include the one fully funded by Virginia Heinlein’s estate and another for volunteer projects given by the National Space Society.

More information on the Robert A. Heinlein Award, including past winners, can be found at

More information on Stanley Schmidt can be found at

More information on the Balticon can be found at

 To contact the Heinlein Award liaison at BSFS email

One Response to “Stanley Schmidt Wins 2012 Robert A. Heinlein Award”

  1. on 03 May 2012 at 12:15 pmCarl Frederick

    Wonderful news.
    Stan Schmidt finally getting some of the recognition that he so richly deserves.