Science Fiction Awards Watch

The Scribe Awards

We have discovered a new set of awards (thank you again, John). The Scribe Awards are given out by the The International Association of Media Tie-in Writers. They include awards for mainstream fiction as well, but unlike most general awards the Scribes seem to present themselves as genre awards with special category for other stuff, rather than general awards with a special category for weird stuff. We like that.

The Scribes are very new. The first awards were given out last year and the winners in the categories of interest were:

  • Adapted work: Superman Returns, Marv Wolfman
  • Non-adapted work: Thirty Days of Night: Rumors of the Undead, Jeff Mariotte & Steve Niles
  • YA work: Buffy the Vampire Slayer: Portal Through Time, Alice Henderson

The Scribes are unusual in that they allow comics and graphic novels to compete against traditional novels in the same category.

The distinction between “adapted” and “non-adapted” is between a book that it an adaption of an actual screenplay, etc., and a work that is set in an existing universe but not adapted from an actual screenplay. The Scribes use the term “original” for non-adapted works, which we have avoided doing as we can see people getting rather upset about it.

2 Responses to “The Scribe Awards”

  1. on 29 Feb 2008 at 10:12 amDarren T

    I chatted to Steve Savile about the inaugural Scribe Awards last year over at UKSFBN, if it’s okay to post the link here?

  2. on 29 Feb 2008 at 10:25 amCheryl

    Nice interview. Thanks!