Science Fiction Awards Watch

Sidewise Awards

Presented by

The Sidewise Jury


A panel of judges currently comprising the following: Stephen Baxter, Evelyn Leeper, Jim Rittenhouse, Stu Shiffman, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver.


Works must be first published in English, or first published in the USA, during the year of eligibility.


  • Long form (> 60,000 words)
  • Short form (< 60,000 words)

Note that the definition of long form requires 50% more wordage that most novel categories.

Long form awards have been given to a series of books rather than an individual work. Works that are part of a series can also be eligible provided that, in the opinion of the judges, they can stand on their own as individual works.

Winner receives

A plaque.

Submissions method

Tearsheets and/or review copies of works must be submitted to the judges. Electronic submission may be acceptable (mainly for shorter works, but they apparently do accept novel-length if you ask nicely). Contact details are given on the Awards’ web site.

Leave a Question