Science Fiction Awards Watch

Endeavour Award

Presented by

The Endeavour Award Committe, operating as a non-profit organization under Oregon Science Fiction Conventions, Inc., a 501(c)(3) status organization.


The Award Committee contacts writers, editors and fans in an effort to learn of any eligible books published in the current year. Editors, or authors, are asked to submit five copies of each book for Endeavour readers.

All entered books are first read by seven readers chosen at random from a pool of Northwest fans. The readers score the books in a range of categories:

  • Originality (0-10 points)
  • Setting (0-10 points)
  • Plot and pacing (0-10 points)
  • Characters (0-10 points)
  • Themes (consistency and clarity of) (0-10 points)
  • Setting (richness of the SF or fantasy world and how well realized) (0-10 points)
  • Prose and style (0-20 points)
  • Personal enjoyment (0-30 points)

The highest and lowest total score for each book is thrown out, and the remaining totals are averaged over all readers. The five books with the highest average totals become finalists. (In case of a tie for fifth place, the tied books are sent out for a tie-breaking score.)

Note that this system means that not every book is read by the same seven people. The structured scoring system is designed to counteract this issue. The award works this way in order to ensure that the readers are not unduly burdened with books to read – something that judging panels for other awards often complain about.

The precise method for selecting readers for tie breakers is undefined as the Administrators need the flexibility to get books read at very short notice.

The five finalists are sent to a panel of three judges who are professionals in the field – writers and editors – all of whom must live outside of the Pacific Northwest. The judges decide upon a winner from the group of finalists.


The award is open to novels and single-author collections of science fiction or fantasy. Works much be at least 40,000 words in length and in English. Comics and graphic novels are not eligible.

The author must have been residing in the Pacific Northwest (defined as Alaska, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, The Yukon, and British Columbia) when the book was written and accepted for publication.

Works first published outside of the US or Canada may be entered. Books entered on the basis of foreign publication are not eligible again if later published in the US or Canada. Books which are published elsewhere but not entered at the time are eligible in the first year of publication in one of the US or Canada. That is, a book may only be entered once.



Winner receives

A cash prize of $1000

Finalists wishing to attend the award ceremony at Orycon are eligible for a small grant to help defray the costs of attending the convention.

Submissions method

Works may be nominated by writers, editors, agents, and attendees of the previous year’s OryCon.

Data Sources

  • Endeavour Award Committee: Nov 30, 2007
  • Petrea Mitchell: Aug 26, 2007
  • Award web site: Aug 22, 2007