Science Fiction Awards Watch

Premios Ignotus

Presented by

Asociación Española de Fantasía, Ciencia Ficción y Terror


The awards are voted on by by members of HispaCon, the national sf convention of Spain. The method appears to be very similar to the Hugo Awards, including the “Australian system” for the final ballot.


Most of the categories are for first publication in Spain. Winners do not have to be Spanish nationals. The language can be any of the official languages of Spain (we think this means Spanish, Euskara (Basque), Catalan and Galician).

Translated works and web sites are exempt from the geographic requirement, as are Anthology and Magazine.


  • Novel (> 40,000 words)
  • Short Novel (17,500 – 40,000 words)
  • Short Story(< 17,500 words)
  • Anthology
  • Non-Fiction
  • Article
  • Artwork
  • Audio-visual production
  • Comic
  • Poem
  • Magazine
  • Translated Novel (> 40,000 words)
  • Translated Short Fiction (< 40,000 words)
  • Web site
  • Primo Gabriel

The Primo Gabriel is for “contributions to the world of science fiction, fantasy, and horror” and sounds like a lifetime achievement award.

Winner receives

A trophy

Submissions method

Unknown, but probably none given the method.

Data Sources

  • Award web site: Aug 22, 2007
  • Petrea Mitchell: Sep 16, 2007

Leave a Question