Science Fiction Awards Watch

Compton Crook Award

Presented by

The Baltimore Science Fiction Society

The award is named after a Towson State College Professor of Natural Science named Compton Crook, who wrote under the name Stephen Tall, and who died in 1981. It was first awarded in 1983 for a work published in 1982


Voted on by the members of the BSFS.


The award is for a first SF, fantasy or horror novel. However, authors are ineligible if they have previously won an award from any Canadian, UK, British Commonwealth, former British Commonwealth or US organization for any English language novel. This is presumably intended to restrict the field to genuine newcomers as opposed to previously successful authors who have moved into the SF/F/H field. Collaborations are also ineligible.

The award rules are at the bottom of this web page. (We like their Rule #5).


  • First Novel

Winner receives

A cash prize of $1000 and Guest of Honor status at the following two year’s Balticon.

Submissions method

Submission is not required but will ensure that your book does not get overlooked. See the award web site for the submissions address.

Data Sources

  • Award web site: Aug 27, 2007
  • Award administrators: May 23, 2008


Name Active
First Novel Yes

Local historical information is available here:

Leave a Question