Science Fiction Awards Watch

Presented by

The International Horror Guild


The nominees and winners are determined by a jury, but anyone may recommend works for consideration.


Works of horror or dark fantasy published in the year of eligibility. Works originally published in languages other than English are eligible again in their first year of publication in English. Full eligibility rules are available here.


  • Novel (>= 40,000 words)
  • Long Fiction (20,000 – 40,000 words)
  • Mid-Length Fiction (10,000 – 20,000 words)
  • Short Fiction (< 10,000 words)
  • Collection
  • Anthology
  • Non-fiction
  • Graphic Story, Novel, or Other Illustrated Narrative
  • Periodical
  • Art

Full definitions for each category are available here.

Winner receives

A trophy. Originally this too the form of a winged dog-gargoyle. This has now been replaced with a black acrylic plaque bearing an engraving of the gargoyle trophy. You can see the full story and pictures of the trophies here.

Submissions method

Details of how to recommend works and contact the judges are available here.

Leave a Question