Science Fiction Awards Watch

Presented by

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts


Gary K. Wolfe and a group of advisors appointed by him.


Any writer whose first fantasy book is published in the year of eligibility. The book does not have to be a novel. One past winner’s “book” was actually a trilogy, the final volume of which was published in the year of eligibility. The jury determined that the entire trilogy comprised the “book”.


New Fantasy Writer

Winner receives

A trophy.

Submissions method

None. Professor Wolfe is a reviewer for Locus magazine, so submitting a book to Locus for review may help bring the work to his attention.


Name Active
Work Yes

Local historical information is available here:

3 Questions to “William L. Crawford Fantasy Award”

  1. on 26 Jan 2009 at 1:14 pmmikek999

    Your link to the official Crawford Award web site on your page appears to be out of date. The new page appears to be .

  2. on 26 Jan 2009 at 1:16 pmmikek999

    For some reason that didn’t come through right — the new/correct page link appears to be

  3. on 26 Jan 2009 at 2:23 pmEditors

    Thanks Mike, that’s fixed now.

Leave a Question