Science Fiction Awards Watch

Mythopoeic Awards

Presented by

The Mythopoeic Society


Nominees are selected by popular vote amongst the membership of the Society. The winners are chosen by a jury appointed by the Society.


The works need to fit in with the aims of the Mythopoeic Society, which broadly revolve around celebrating the work of the “Inklings” (.R.R. Tolkien, C.S. Lewis, and Charles Williams).

In the scholarship categories works are eligible for three years, except that a work cannot be eligible again after it has won.

In the adult and children’s literature categories, works should be the fantasy novel, multi-volume novel, or single-author story collection for adults (or children) published during the previous year that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings”. Books not selected as finalists in the year after publication are eligible for a second year. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears.


  • Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
  • Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature
  • Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
  • Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Full definitions of each category can be found here.

Winner receives


Submissions method

None. You have to make sure that your work is known to members of the Society.

Data Sources

  • Award Administrators: Oct 2, 2007
  • Award web site: Aug 22, 2007

Leave a Question