Science Fiction Awards Watch

Australian Shadows Awards

Presented by

The Australian Horror Writers Association.


The initial short list is selected by a panel of three judges from submissions. The eventual winner is selected by a separate guest judge.


All entries must be works of fiction first published either in print or electronically within the calendar year and the author/editor must be an Australian citizen or Australian resident. While a collection or anthology which contains reprints may be submitted as a work in its own right, none of the reprinted stories within will be eligible for individual consideration.


There is only one category. Novels, short fiction, collections and anthologies are all judged against each other.

  • Work

Winner receives

A figurine designed by Brom and produced by Franklin Mint.

Submissions method

Anyone may nominate a work by contacting the awards director. See the submissions web page for further details.

Data Sources

  • Award web site: March 5, 2008

Leave a Question