Science Fiction Awards Watch

British Fantasy Awards

Presented by

The British Fantasy Society


A recommendation phase provides a long list which is then voted on by the BFS members and members of FantasyCon, the BFS’s annual convention. A preferential voting system is used when voting on the long list, and voters may vote for items not on the long list. The top five from the long list stage go through to a short list final ballot. Voters may vote for only one item on the short list.

Two of the awards a determined separately. The Karl Edward Wagner Special Award winner is chosen by the BFS committee. The Sydney J. Bounds Best Newcomer Award winner is chosen by a jury appointed by the BFS.


The awards appear to be open to any work of fantasy (whatever that means) published in the year of eligibility (the previous calendar year).


  • Novel (The August Derleth Award)
  • Novella
  • Short Fiction
  • Collection
  • Anthology
  • Small Press (The PS Publishing Award)
  • Artist
  • Non-Fiction
  • Television
  • Film
  • Karl Edward Wagner Special Award
  • Sydney J. Bounds Best Newcomer Award

Winner receives

A trophy – a statue of Cthulhu.

Submissions method

None. You need to make your work known to BFS members.

Data Sources

Leave a Question