Science Fiction Awards Watch

Sunburst Awards

The Sunburst Awards are named after the first novel by Phyllis Gotlieb, one of the first published authors of contemporary Canadian science fiction.

Presented by

The Sunburst Award Administration Committee


A jury appointed by the committee.


Novels and book-length collections of speculative fiction published in English by Canadian writers in the year of eligibility. The works do not have to be published in Canada. Works originally written in languages other than English are eligible in their first year of publication translated into English.

Works which did not reach the jury in time to be considered in their eligibility year may be granted eligibility in the following year.


  • Work
  • Young Adult work

The YA category is new and will be first awarded in 2008.

Winner receives

CA$1000 and a medallion incorporating the “sunburst” logo, designed by Marcel Gagné.

Submissions method

Copies of the works need to be sent to the jury. See the awards’ web site for contact details.

Data Sources

  • Award Administration: Aug 25, 2007
  • Award web site: Aug 22, 2007

Leave a Question