Science Fiction Awards Watch

Hugo Awards

Presented by

The World Science Fiction Society (WSFS)


Popular vote of the membership. WSFS membership is conferred by being a member of Worldcon. Nomination is open to members from the current and previous year. The final ballot is open only to members from the current year. For more information see this FAQ and this explanation of the voting system.


Works are generally eligible if first published, or first published in English, during the year of eligibility. Eligibility can be extended under special circumstances. See this category explanation for eligibility in individual person awards. For more details, including the rule for Eligibility Extension, see this FAQ.


The Hugo categories have changed substantially with time. See below for a list of current and past categories. See here for a more detailed explanation of each category.

Winner receives

A trophy. The rocket part of the trophy has become standardized in shape since 1959 and has been sourced from the same company (once owned by UK fan Peter Weston) since 1984. However, each Worldcon designs its own base. A photographic archive of past Hugo trophies is available here.

Submissions method

None. The voters can nominate any work or person provided that they meet the eligibility criteria.

Data Sources

  • Award Administration: Aug 22, 2007
  • Award web site: Aug 22, 2007


Name Active
Novel Yes
Novella Yes
Novelette Yes
Short Story Yes
Related Book Yes
Dramatic Presentation: Long Form Yes
Dramatic Presentation: Short Form Yes
Editor: Long Form Yes
Editor: Short Form Yes
Artist Yes
Semiprozine Yes
Fanzine Yes
Fan Writer Yes
Fan Artist Yes

Local historical information is available here:

2 Questions to “Hugo Awards”

  1. on 10 Feb 2008 at 11:04 amKaren Burnham

    How do the Hugos treat serialized novels? I’m thinking of “Rollback” by Robert Sawyer. It was serialized in one of the magazines in 2007, but I think it’s going to be published as a book with a 2008 date. For which year should it be nominated, if it were to be nominated at all?


  2. on 10 Feb 2008 at 11:30 amKevin


    This is handled at section 3.2.6 of the WSFS Constitution. Serialized works are eligible based on when the final part appears. The Robert Sawyer novel you cite, assuming its last piece appeared in 2007, is eligible for the 2008 Hugo Awards. Generally speaking (there are rules about eligibility extension that I won’t go into here unless you want to know about it), if the work you cite is published in book form in 2008, it won’t be eligible for 2009 because of its prior publication.

Leave a Question